Skip to content

Leaving His Mark

Aug 23, 2012, 12:28 PM EST

When linebacker Manti Te’o chose Notre Dame over USC on National Signing Day in 2009, Irish fans everywhere celebrated.

Snagging a highly-touted recruit from a rival football program? What’s not to love?

But perhaps even bigger news came this past December, when the Laie, Hawaii native announced his decision to return to South Bend for his senior season – because both on and off the field, Te’o has lived up to the hype that surrounded him as a high school standout.

At last week’s Media Day, he talked about his expectations for the Irish defense and what he wants to accomplish in his final season at Notre Dame.

I want to leave my mark here. I want to leave my stamp here on this school. When everybody talks about Notre Dame, I want my picture to be up there. I want my name to be across there as one of the best to ever play here, but not only one of the best to ever suit up, but one of the best individuals to ever walk the halls of this campus.

Hear more from Manti in the video below:

About Strong and True

Welcome to Strong and True, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame football. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the program, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ND Football on YouTube