Skip to content

Kelly Named Coach of the Year (Again)

Dec 13, 2012, 12:13 PM EST


Having already been recognized as the Home Depot, Walter Camp and Sporting News Coach of The Year, Fighting Irish head coach Brian Kelly picked up his fourth postseason honor on Thursday morning.

Kelly was named the recipient of the 2012 FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

The 1,200-member Football Writers Association of America chose the Irish head coach over eight other finalists – Gary Andersen (Utah State), Dave Doeren (Northern Illinois), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O’Brien (Penn State), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M).

The FWAA Coach of the Year Award was first given out in 1957, and it has been named after the former Grambling State coach since 1997. It’s currently sponsored by the Fiesta Bowl.

Kelly is now the fourth Notre Dame coach to receive the award, following Ara Parseghian (1964), Lou Holtz (1988) and Charlie Weis (2005).

Read more on Coach Kelly’s honor in the press release on

Like Manti Te’o last week, you can bet Kelly is pleased with the numerous national recognitions he has received, but that the only trophy he is really focused on is the one the Irish will play for on Jan. 7.

About Strong and True

Welcome to Strong and True, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to Notre Dame football. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the program, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ND Football on YouTube